Posted in Books

Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

LAFS Banner

I adore everything by Jill Shalvis that I’ve read before, so when I learned there’s a new series she’s writing, I jumped at the chance of getting a copy.

I was not disappointed.

mythoughts

Quinn Weller, a chef in a fancy schmancy LA restaurant, lost her sister in a car crash a couple of years ago, and since then she’s been going through the motions of life but without really living it. When she’s approached one day by a man claiming she’s the heir of a woman who’s recently passed, she’s shocked to find out the sweet woman that chatted with her at the coffee house was her biological mother.

After getting past her parents’ betrayal and lies, she (obviously) needs a break, and since her co-sous chef is a nasty bastard, it’s not a hard decision to make, leaving for a few days to settle the inheritance thing.

But then Quinn is even more shocked to realize she has a 15 year old sister.

emma-watson-shock-look

Mick Hennessey is forced to return to Wildstone to help his mother fix up her house so she can sell it now that his father’s passed away. However, his forced visits are made much more pleasant by Quinn Weller and her issues with bugs.

When she keeps extending her stay trying to build a relationship with her new sister, Quinn is slowly but surely falls for Mick and the people in the little, remote town. There are issues to deal with and dramas to be had, but when push comes to shove, Quinn gets her life back, her joy and passion.

Lost and Found Sisters is a beautiful romance wrapped up in heartache, a new start, laughs and teenage angst. It’s sexy as hell, fun and emotional. It’s exactly how a contemporary romance should read.

It reaffirmed my love for Jill Shalvis’s words ❤

5 Stars

~Eleanor

IMG_0106-1

excerpt

“You’re up, honey,” Carolyn said and gestured to the front counter.

Trev, the carefully tousled barista, was an L.A. beach bum and aspiring actor forced to work to support his surfing habit. His hands worked at the speed of light while the rest of him seemed chilled and relaxed. “Hey, darlin’, how’s life today?”

“Good,” Quinn said. She didn’t want to brag, but she’d totally gotten out of bed today with only two hits of the snooze button. “How did your audition go?”

“Got the part.” Trev beamed. “You’re looking at the best fake Thai delivery guy who ever lived. It means my luck as changed, so say you’ll finally go out with me.”

Quinn smiled—see, she totally did smile!—and shook her head. “I’m not—“

Trev piped in along with her, in perfect sync, “—dating right now,” and then shook his head.

“Well, I’m not,” she said.

lostandfoundsisters_Teaser 6 copy“It’s not right, a hot chick like you. You’re way too young to be in a rut. You know that, right?”

“I’m not in a rut.” She was just…not feeling life right now, that’s all. “And hey, I didn’t tell you my order yet,” she said when she realized he was already working on her coffee.

“Has it changed?” he asked. “Ever?”

No, but now she wanted to order something crazy just to throw him off, except she wanted her usual, dammit.

Okay, so maybe she was in a rut. But routine made life simpler and after the complications she’d been through, simple was the key to getting out of bed and putting one foot in front of the other every day.

That and the badly needed caffeine, of course.

“You should go out with him,” Carolyn whispered behind her. She smiled kindly when Quinn craned her neck and looked at her. “You only live once, right?”

“Not true,” Quinn said. “You lie every day. You only die once.”

Carolyn’s smile slowly faded in understanding. “Then make it count, honey. Go hog wild.”

Hog wild, huh? Quinn turned back to Trev.

“I’m all for the hog wild,” he said hopefully.

Quinn went for it. “An extra shot and whip.”

Trev blinked and then sighed. “Yeah, we really need to work on your idea of hog wild.”

IMG_0107

Amazon ~ B&N ~ Kobo ~ iBooks

IMG_0105-0

32319723From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women’s fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.’s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she’s looking for a missing piece she can’t find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn’t quite fit in right away, she can’t help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there’s another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn’t a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she’s searched so long for.

IMG_0109

Shalvis, Jill 2012New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras with her family and far too many assorted quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental.

Look for Jill’s latest, SWEET LITTLE LIES on shelves and e-readers now, and get all her bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold.

Visit Jill’s website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

Connect with Jill on Facebook: http://facebook.com/JillShalvis
Connect with Jill on Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/jillshalvis
Connect with Jill on Tumblr: http://jillshalvis.tumblr.com

Advertisements

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

One thought on “Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s