Posted in Books

The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz

I think the only other fantasy story Tiffany Reisz wrote previously is a novella involving Kingsley, but I’m not sure… regardless, The Night Mark is a superbly written novella with some history, altered reality, and time travel. And an epic love story. Natch!

mythoughts

Do you remember in The Bourbon Thief there was this island where they used the special trees to make the whiskey barrels? This island plays a part in The Night Mark. It’s quite adorable, to be honest, and gave me warm fuzzies. The island’s existence (and his owner) is the only connection, though.

Faye misses her dead husband to the point where she tried killing herself, and divorced her second husband when she realized she’s miserable. While trying to find her “self” again, intrigued by a lighthouse, Faye slips and falls in the water, emerging 94 years in the past, to life as Faith Morgan, daughter of the lighthouse keeper who looks exactly like her dead husband, in 1921.

Can you imagine this happening to you? Frankly, I think it could be cool. Sure, no A/C, no modern-day facilities and conveniences. But the quiet, the innocence, the simplicity… those seem so appealing to me.

Anyway, back to the story – Faye is determined to find out everything she can about Carrick, the lighthouse keeper, and about herself as Faith Morgan. As she’s doing that, she learns to recognize which of her feelings are for her husband and which are the ones she develops for Carrick.

The romance aspect here is very slow burn, and Faye’s slip ups with modern figures of speech, her blunt language when it comes to sex and the way Carrick isn’t all that appalled by her sometimes-odd behavior is very refreshing.

As always, Reisz is tying all loose ends, and not one character remains with unresolved issues. As always, there is an aspect of mindfuckery that I’m expecting from her.

This isn’t Soren and Nora. It’s not Kingsley and Juliette and it’s not Griffin and Michael. But it’s Faye and Carrick, and it’s absolutely beautiful.

5 stars

~Eleanor

IMG_0106-1

IMG_0107

Amazon ~ B&N ~ Kobo ~ iBooks

IMG_0105-0

30698729She has nothing to live for in the present, but finds there’s something worth dying for in the past…

From Tiffany Reisz, the international bestselling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and The Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she’s been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse, where a power greater than love works its magic.

Advertisements

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s