Getting Inside by Serena Bell

I don’t know if you guys know, but Serena Bell is a pretty athletic person. She’s also very talented. So it’s only natural that at some point she’ll venture into contemporary sports romance.

And she has. In a way.

I understand football, I get the fact that it’s a unifying sports, it’s thrilling and manly and all that. I was even taught the rules of the game, so I’m not completely clueless. I am however, not a huge fan. I’ll watch a game with my friends and understand about 80% of what’s going on on the field, I’ll cheer and get into the atmosphere. But I probably won’t on my own accord buy a ticket for a game and follow the players and all that jazz.

So I choose to focus on this book as one with a beautiful romance and a sprinkle of football.

mythoughts

Iona and Ty’s story is what classic contemporary romances are made of.

Except…

In Getting Inside, Iona is a badass chick! She’s absolutely a wonderful role model for any person that is afraid to go after what they want, especially women. And especially women of color.

See, Iona is a professional league football coach. She’s playing in the big leagues now. After a great record as a player and high-school league coach, she’s offered the opportunity of a lifetime and jumps on it. She’s determined to succeed.

And then she meets the big star of the Seattle Grizzlies and the attraction is mutual and instantaneous.

Now, imagine a woman in a position of power, trying to do her job in an all men’s world. That’s a doozy. And Iona is doing such a spectacular job. She’s getting them better, she’s getting everything she wanted in life, she’s living her dream.

And she’s also getting to fall in love with a perfect man for her.

Ty’s childhood was challenging, to say the least. He’s struggled and managed to fulfill his dream. Has supposedly overcome his brother’s betrayal and deal with his parent’s tragic deaths. He’s managed to come out the other end an honorable man, appreciative and hard working. Loyal.

He’s also still a man, virile and as all football players a little bit of a… player. Until the right woman comes along, of course.

You can probably guess the problematic dynamics of Iona and Ty embarking on an affair in this scenario.

What you probably can’t guess, is how everything is resolved.

A gripping romance between two confident, accomplished professionals in one of the most difficult situations possible. Serena Bell’s weaving love with pro lingo and oozing sex appeal and still manages to maintain a strong male with a wonderful sense of honor and love, and a determined heroine who’s realizing her worth as a woman and not just a professional.

Bell has pretty much nailed this plot bunny. I’m all kinds of waiting for more books in the series.

4.5 Stars

~Eleanor

IMG_0106-1

IMG_0107

Amazon ~ BN ~ Kobo

IMG_0105-0

31124872They’re big. They’re hot. And they play hard.

In the kickoff to Serena Bell’s sexy new football romance series, the heat between a female coach and a cocky linebacker turns the Seattle Grizzlies locker room upside down.

Iona: There’s nothing like the rush of going head-to-head with the boys. Football is my life, and I got my new job with the Seattle Grizzlies because I know how to play rough. But as a woman in a man’s game, I can’t afford any distractions—like panty-melting tabloid darling Ty Williams, my star linebacker. I’ve stared down plenty of good-looking players without losing my cool . . . and yet something about Ty’s intense gaze burns straight to my core.

Ty : Despite what they say in the press, I save my best moves for game day. The Grizzlies aren’t just my teammates, they’re my brothers—no way am I going to let some new coach shake up our defense. But Iona Thomas isn’t just some coach. It’s so tough to keep my head in the game when I’d rather be in bed with her. She may take charge at practice, but if I had her in my arms, I’d be choosing the plays. I just need to figure out what makes her tick—and what makes her want to break the rules.

Getting Inside is a short novel about going long. Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title!

IMG_0109

USA Today bestselling author and RT Reviewers’ Choice Award nominee Serena Bell writes richly emotional stories about big-hearted characters with real troubles and the people who are strong and generous enough to love them.

A former journalist, Serena has always believed that everyone has an amazing story to tell if you listen carefully, and she adores hiding in her tiny garret office, mainlining chocolate and bringing to life the tales in her head.

When not writing, Serena loves to spend time with her college-sweetheart husband and two hilarious kiddos—all of whom are incredibly tolerant not just of Serena’s imaginary friends but also her enormous collection of constantly changing and passionately embraced hobbies, ranging from needlepoint to paddle boarding to meditation.

Sign up for new release updates here! http://www.serenabell.com/newsletter

Connect with Serena Bell on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

