Posted in Books

The Empty Jar by M. Leighton

It’s been a while since a book affected me like this one has. As I’m writing this post my head hurts and I’m closed off in my room waiting for me face to look normal again and not red a puffy. Thanks, Michelle.

I wanted to put a GIF here but couldn’t find one that would do my feelings justice. Even the most heartbreaking ones were… just not right.

mythoughts

It’s clear from the very first page reading this story that it’s incredibly personal and will most likely be emotionally draining.

And it is!

The story is about a couple, married for closing on 19 years, about to head on a 3-month trip across Europe. The couple is make-you-so-jealous-you-want-to-die in love with each other still, it’s ridiculous.

It’s clear early on there’s something very tragic about to happen, but it’s also clear that this love they share, Nate and Lena, will make even the most tragic event tolerable. Somewhat, anyway.

For some ridiculous reason reading this reminded me of The Notebook, though I can safely say this one has made a vastly greater impression on me than the schmaltzy story Sparks wrote. Somehow, everything Nate and Lena are going through in this beautiful book is so much more real, so much more heartbreaking.

I started shedding tears around 25% of the book and at about the 60% mark they just didn’t stop until the last 20% were read through blurry vision and many sniffles.

I’m wishing everyone this kind of love, including myself. I’m also wishing everything (including myself) it never ends.

I’ve said nothing about the plot, and I’m not sorry about that – this book should be read (or not) based on the feeling you picked up from this post. It’s your decision entirely.

Michelle, thank you for the copy, for the tears and for making my heart burst with feelings.

5 Stars

~Eleanor

IMG_0106

IMG_0107

Amazon

IMG_0105-0

4-20- cover reveal TEJ final.jpgThree months touring Europe.
Romantic. Dazzling. Unforgettable.
The trip of a lifetime.

But some lifetimes are shorter…

We couldn’t have known it would work out this way.
No one could. No one could’ve guessed that something so beautiful could be so tragic.

But it is tragic.

Yet so, so beautiful.

That’s what sacrifice is—beauty and tragedy.
It’s pain and suffering for something or someone you love.

And this is the ultimate sacrifice.
One stunning act of true love.

This is our story.
Our true love story.

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

