Posted in Books

The Dirty Secret by Kira A. Gold

I love, just love how sometimes I give a new (to me) author a chance and it pays off.

I’ve read a short story last year by Kira and I enjoyed it, though it wasn’t a favorite. It was a part of the Frequent Flyers compilation that was mostly very good.

The Dirty Secret was a fantastic read and right before I’m actually reviewing it I say this: Get it and read it.

mythoughts

How fabulous is it when a book grabs you from pretty much the very beginning? I started The Dirty Secret and didn’t really understand what’s going on but something got my attention and I couldn’t put it down.

Vessa Ratham and Killian Fitzroy are two souls dying to break free of their individually different clutching realities. Vessa has a secret that won’t allow her to fully live like she deserves. And she deserves!! Killian’s circumstances aren’t as problematic, but he is dependent on his best friend and is unanchored in life to the point where work is the only thing making him move forward.

Both seek the help of Donna Edith. I’m still not sure exactly what she is, but I’m considering her to be a Madame that dabbles in work matches as well as… other kinds.

Let me go back to the beginning; Vessa is an interior decorator and Killian is an architect. They’re matched together by Donna Edith to get Killian’s house ready for a showing. Killian’s requests of Vessa are simple and complicated. He wants something so vastly different than what you’d expect from a newly built house in a subdivision, that every turn of a page where Vessa’s work is revealed was simply pleasure jumping off a page.

Working on a house is a sexy endeavor. It’s, for lack of better word, flirtatious. When they start leaving each other notes, things heat up between them, but they’re still very much reserved and held back by their own circumstances.

Vessa’s secret is slowly revealed and when Killian is clued in, things blow up in their faces. But not for the reasons one would think. Which is what’s so awesome. Everything in this book is a surprise. Vessa, Killian, their family and friends, their talents and the way their romance is created and developing.

The Dirty Secret is sexy, smart, flirtatious, packs a little drama, has more than one secret (yup!) and is written beautifully. Do yourselves a favor and 1-click it. It’s a unique pleasure of a read.

5 stars

~Eleanor

* My thanks to NetGalley and the author for the eGalley of The Dirty Secret in exchange for my honest review.

IMG_0106

IMG_0105-0

28277395From the Desk of Donna Edith…

My services are unconventional. My clients come to me with needs and I match them to other clients with needs of their own…

Promising young architect Killian Fitzroy: Driven, clever, eager to prove himself. Starved for sex, though he’s come to me for professional assistance, not personal. Needs: Someone unique, creative and fast. An artist with a feminine perspective to breathe life into a house he’s built.

Aspiring scenic designer Vessa Ratham: Sensuous, spontaneous, but secretive. Recently returned to Vermont armed with an art degree that qualifies her for little more than waiting tables. Needs: An opportunity to shine.

Yes, Killian and Vessa will satisfy each other nicely—in more ways than one.

IMG_0107

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Kobo

IMG_0109

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAKira A. Gold is a professional costumer and a very amateur knitter, and writes strange things when no one is looking.
Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

2 thoughts on “The Dirty Secret by Kira A. Gold

Leave a Reply

