Posted in Books

Darkest Before Dawn by Maya Banks

I was contacted a while back with the offering a copy of this book for review. I have a thing, I don’t read books out of order. I did that once in error and that was a “standalone” within a series. It drove me NUTS that there were characters mentioned half assed and I didn’t know their story and how it connected and led to the one I was reading.

I agreed. And then I discovered I have close to two months to read DBD before it releases. So naturally, I read the whole series. In order. That’s 10 (or 11?) books, y’all.

And I enjoyed them. They’re as unrealistic as military novels come, but they sweep you away. The entire series is a page turner.

There’s a thing with this series, and that’s KGI themselves. They make the story, the fun, they bring the swoon, they somehow carry the plot well.

DBD is 98% revolving Hancock, the CIA connection to KGI. He’s been a questionable ally to them since the beginning of the series, and I loved that he got his own book.

Honor is a twenty something volunteer in combat zone in Syria (I think?). She’s tending to the civilians trying to live their lives in between the horrific acts committed during battle in their area. She’s targeted along with her fellow volunteers by A New Era (imagine ISIS), and when their building is attacked, she miraculously survives and escapes.

Naturally, having a runaway, a woman no less, is reflecting badly on ANE and they’re hunting her.

Back to Hancock, he’s got a mission. We know his mission from previous books, and he’ll take him down any way he can. He realizes he can get close to his target by bringing him Honor to trade back to ANE. What he doesn’t realize is how knowing Honor will affect him.

I have to admit, the book sucked me in, it was very well written, a little repetitive in parts, but I’m overlooking those. Honor is a fantastic character. She’s strong, has great values, kickass survival skills, and she’s tough as nails. Most of the plot had my heart hurt. Yeah, I knew it will all end well, but enjoying a character and reading through her suffering which to my estimation is throughout about 70% of the book is just pure heartache. And I hated that.

The books deviates from previous KGI in so many ways, but what bothered me most in it is the KGI family wasn’t in it. They have a minuscule part, I’m not going to say where in the story, but I felt their absence tremendously. This book could definitely be a first in a spin-off series to KGI.

However, their absence that’s annoying me isn’t enough to detract too much from how much I enjoyed the book. So I’m giving it 4 stars.

~Eleanor

THE ALL-NEW KGI NOVEL from the “incredibly awesome” (Jaci Burton) #1 New York Times bestselling author of When Day Breaks.

The Kelly Group International (KGI): A super-elite, top secret, family-run business.
Qualifications: High intelligence, rock-hard body, military background.
Mission: Hostage/kidnap victim recovery. Intelligence gathering. Handling jobs the U.S. government can’t…

The enigmatic Hancock has been both opponent and ally to the KGI teams for as long as they’ve known him. Always working a deep game, Hancock’s true allegiance has never been apparent, but one thing is for certain—he never lets anything get in the way of duty.

But now, his absolute belief in the primacy of his ultimate goal is challenged by a captive he’s been ordered to guard, no matter how much she suffers in her prison. She’s the only woman who’s ever managed to penetrate the rigid walls surrounding his icy heart, but will he allow his perplexing feelings for the beautiful victim to destroy a mission he’s spent years working to complete or will he be forced to sacrifice her for “the greater good.”

61912-goodreads

Amazon Kindle ~ Barnes & NobleiBooks ~ BAM ~ IndieBound ~ Google

I live in Texas with my husband, three children and assortment of cats. There’s also the dog that my daughter presented us a two page written proposal on why she should have it. (Don’t ask) When I’m not writing, I can be found hunting, fishing or playing poker. A southern girl born and bred, I love life below the Mason Dixon, and more importantly, I love bringing southern characters and settings to life in my stories. Not all my stories are set in the south, but most are 😉

Facebook ~ Twitter

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

2 thoughts on “Darkest Before Dawn by Maya Banks

  1. I’m still shocked you agreed to read 10 books before you actually GOT to this one 🙂 I used to be able to do that, but now I feel as though 5 (maybe a little more) is the best I can do one-after-the-other. But you enjoyed it, that’s what maters right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

