Posted in Books

Lux by Courtney Cole

IT’S FINALLY HERE!!!

I don’t know what to write in this review. I really don’t.

I can start by saying that if you haven’t read Nocte, Verum and Initium, don’t bother reading further than this point. Nothing will make sense to you. Heck, even if you had there’s a chance this review will mean absolutely nothing. LOL

Whoa boy, I’m still so confused.

Reading Nocte was very dark and very clear. Up to a certain point. And then we got Verum. Verum kicked out butts, messed with out minds, and threw us into multiple panic attacks, all in the name of trying to figure out exactly what Cole was trying to say.

I was THRILLED when I got the Lux advance copy. Silly me, I thought it will make sense of the story. Ha. Ha ha ha. Ha!

I mean, don’t get me wrong. I finished the story and sighed because I finally had an answer, but then I started thinking about it and making sense of it in my head. Or trying to make sense of everything in my head. And it both worked and didn’t. See, there’s a very weird loop in this story <– swear that’s the only “spoiler” I’m going to give, and it’s not really a spoiler. And this loop makes you think things that are real but aren’t. And both Dare and Calla are going through this oddest of oddest of journeys.

Lux feels completely like a rollercoaster of a constant shift between a clear mind to chaos. If it were a gif image it would’ve been the perfect trigger for an epileptic person.

Courtney Cole’s mind is a dark and odd place. It’s also one of the most creative and wonderful to be given a glimpse to.

And, well, if nothing else, the entire series is a pretty good lesson in Latin. Who said it’s a dead language?

I’m giving it 4.5 stars

~Eleanor

LET THERE BE LIGHT.

My name is Calla Price and I’m broken.

My pieces are all around me, floating on the wind, even as I desperately try to grasp them.

Who is dead? Alive? Insane?

What is the truth?

I don’t know.

I do know this: The darkness is strangling me. With every breath, I choke on another lie.

My mind has protected me, but that shield will soon be lowered.

All will be revealed.
Every answer to every question.

It’s all been leading to this.

Don’t be afraid.
Be terrified.

61912-goodreads

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Kobo ~ iBooks

Courtney Cole is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist who would rather write than eat chocolate. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Business, but no amount of working in the corporate world could quell her urge to write.

Courtney was born and raised in Kansas, home of incredibly friendly people and the most horrendous weather on the planet. Because summer days were so hot, she grew up reading stacks of books… and when she didn’t like the ending, she wrote her own.

Courtney has relocated to Florida where she writes beneath palm trees. To learn more about her, please visit her website, www.courtneycolewrites.com. To sign up for her newsletter and receive exclusive sneak peeks and super-fan perks, go here: http://smarturl.it/CourtneyColeEmail.

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

