Posted in Books

Walk Through Fire by Kristen Ashley

This series is the closest thing I’ve read to SOA in literature. There probably is other books way closer in details and drama, but trust me. Drama’s a plenty in the Chaos novels. Kristen Ashley has drama down pat.

I didn’t realize Walk Through Fire, the 4th in the series, was scheduled to release so soon to Ride Steady, but was thrilled when I spotted it on NetGalley.

Walk Through Fire is a 1-Click, so even before reading my post, go ahead and do it so in a week’s time it’ll wait for you ❤

I’ll be honest – there are aspects of this story that I hated. I felt insulted and was pissed for Millie, and at that point I didn’t even have a clue on what the whole deal between her and Logan was.

See, Logan and Millie were in love 20 years ago. Madly in love. Logan was a prospect at Chaos, Millie was his old lady, they were strong, they had plans for the future, they were incredible together. And then Millie left him. Logan didn’t stick around to find out why. I can understand that – she was pretty adamant that they’re over and he should go on without her. 

Logan, shortly after officially ‘High’, and Millie, both suffered for 20 years. Until she sees him in Chipotle.

Can I say that I’ve never been a big fan of Chipotle?

Millie, a professional party planner, has been a shadow of herself for the past two decades. She lived life, thrived professionally and had all the support her family could give her.

Logan fell apart and at some point just… lived. He married, had kids, got divorced. He then sees Millie when she tracks him down at a Club cookout.

That’s the part I hated and was offended by. I’m never one to use sex as revenge. I get passionate sex, I get angry sex. What I don’t get is sex used for one’s pleasure when knowing the partner is suffering emotionally (even while physically 100% participating and willing). And I don’t condone whatsoever when there’s pursuing against the wishes of the partner.

Harsh words were said, emotional turmoil is an understatement to what this part started. I felt Millie’s pain through her telling her part. I felt her emotional walls crumbling and the pain so deep I was choking up, literally not being able to take full breaths and not from almost crying.

Millie and High’s story is told in flashed to the past. Each part of the present is given it’s counter and background from 20 something years ago. After all, they were together for 3 blissful years. There’s a lot of information leading up to their behavior now.

There’s a lot of meddling from the old ladies of Chaos, against their men and Millie’s wishes. There’s a lot of support of High from his Chaos brothers, which in turn means a lot of animosity towards Millie. There’s a beautiful circle of support for Millie from her family and friends.

And I got it. I absolutely got it from the first clue to her reasoning 20 years ago, I got why Millie walked through fire for Logan. And I loved her beyond reason for it. Millie is one kickass lady.

And in the background of it all, there’s Valenzuela still conspiring to take down Chaos. And guess who he’s using now as targets?

While Millie and Logan/High work to rebuild their relationship, Millie has a lot to contend with – mainly High’s baby girl who would like nothing more than to have her parents back together.

On that note, there’s a very interesting look into the psyche of both of High’s daughters, High himself and Millie. A lot of the characters’ behavior is explained beautifully through introspection and thought. This is something the previous novels in the series didn’t have and was done, in my opinion, exceptionally well.

The action in Walk Through Fire is limited, the emotional rollercoaster is at an all times high, though. The book is loooooooooong and still it manages to capture the reader’s attention like it’s the only thing in the world allowing oxygen.

Kristen Ashely, while I obviously didn’t like aspects of the story, just the fact that they affected me this much warrants a full rating. I can’t wait for more of your Chaos books. Please never stop writing them.

5 Stars

Also, two thumbs up for the bacon appreciation…

~Eleanor

**Forever Publishing via NetGalley provided a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Millie Cross knows what it’s like to burn for someone. She was young and wild and he was fierce and even wilder-a Chaos biker who made her heart pound. They fell in love at first sight and life was good, until she learned she couldn’t be the woman he needed and made it so he had no choice but to walk away. Twenty years later, Millie’s chance run-in with her old flame sparks a desire she just can’t ignore. And this time, she won’t let him ride off . . .

Bad boy Logan “High” Judd has seen his share of troubles with the law. Yet it was a beautiful woman who broke him. After ending a loveless marriage, High is shocked when his true love walks back into his life. Millie is still gorgeous, but she’s just a ghost of her former self. High’s intrigued at the change, but her betrayal cut him deep-and he doesn’t want to get burned again. As High sinks into meting out vengeance for Millie’s betrayal, he’ll break all over again when he realizes just how Millie walked through fire for her man . . .

 

61912-goodreads

PS – the cover? I died. It’s beautiful to me.

Amazon ~ Barnes and Noble ~ Kobo

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA. She nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorise and she hadn’t taken her first breath!).
Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana but has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.
Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multi-generational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland and existed amongst the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).
Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.
And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Goodreads

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

4 thoughts on “Walk Through Fire by Kristen Ashley

  1. I absolutely love this part of your review, “[W]hile I obviously didn’t like aspects of the story, just the fact that they affected me this much warrants a full rating.” I can relate to that feeling when reading and reviewing books. You articulated the concept perfectly. The emotional rush is one of my favorite reasons for romance novels. And as noted, it doesn’t always have to be likable.

  2. I”m no t sure what I feel about your review.. but as it seems I actually have this series on my reading list (though not for 2016 as it seems now..) I’m less patient these days will long books, so we’ll see how it goes…

    1. It’s a great but difficult read. There are things in this one in particular that will make your blood boil.
      In general KA has her men start off as assholes but then redeem themselves in the best of ways.

Leave a Reply

