Posted in Books

Get Real by Tellulah Darling

I’ve been patiently waiting for Ms. Darling to release what she’s been working on. Because, you know, no biggie, but her books make me squeal while laughing, getting pissed off and swooning to no end.

And then came Get Real.

And I’m writing this review with a smiling face remembering all I’ve read.

Alternating point of views style normally confuses me. But when the story is told from two extremely different characters, the two voices are very distinct.

The story is set to most people in the real world. But Darling can’t go one day without throwing in magic, mythology and fantastical mind-fuckery. So she introduces us to the world on magic. Cadabras and Sapiens. Guess which is which.

Rafael and Francesca are, for lack of a better word, misunderstood. Not in the sense where their lives get derailed and straight to oblivion. Not in the sense where their early adulthood is scarring and miserable.

Francesca is well love, cared for, has a fantastic bunch of friends and is all around happy. Except for one thing.

Rafael is handsome, talented to a boot, is very close to his mother and little brother and has a great support system. So he’s not chummy chummy with his dad. That’s not the end of the world.

The thing is that neither of them wants their next step in life to be what their families plan for them. They meet for the first time at a party, the bad boy act partly works and partly doesn’t work on Frankie, and Rafa makes his move while not really wanting to. That’s where the swoonage ensues. And doesn’t stop through the very end.

Frankie and Rafa’s worlds are thrown into a spin on their induction day – to paths neither chose – when they find themselves in NYC. Totally disoriented. And are immediately start investigating what happened and how they got there. Which obviously gets them fighting unknown magic with their own.

Another facet to the story is a young Cad teenager growing up in a Sap family and not just any family. Her father is the head of Sap, actively working against Cads. Sucks to be her is an understatement. This teenager is Minna and she’s giving them hell, and giving us (readers) a lot of huh? moments.

As mentioned before both Frankie and Rafa have fantastic groups of friends. And those friends working together to help their own makes for fun scenes, a bit of flirting and a lot of flirty rivalry.

I understood the book title only towards the end, but when I did it clicked scenes in my mind where Frankie and Rafa are together. I love how they court, and fight. Minna and each other most of all. And all while growing closer.

The story doesn’t really end at the end of the book, and guessing which of their friends are the subjects of the next book is SO much fun.

Get Real is a great setup for a world of action, love and special human magic. I can’t wait for the next title.

My rating: 4 Stars

~Eleanor

** My thanks to Tellulah Darling and NetGalley for providing this copy in exchange for my honest review.

Get Real is a romantic comedy, urban fantasy whirlwind with sass, sex, and swoon, set in the world of “Cadabras”–humans with magical powers.

Francesca Bellafiore is a good Jewish girl, living up to family expectations that she use her magic to heal others. Underneath, she’s a wannabe badass with her heart set on becoming a detective and solving magical crimes. But nice girls don’t disappoint their moms.

Party boy Rafael Muñoz does everything possible to publicly disappoint his high profile father. Privately, it’s a different story. His carefully crafted bad boy reputation masks the fact he’s a master illusionist, forced into solo covert ops. The role is wearing thin and Rafael longs to be part of a team.

When Francesca meets Rafael at a friend’s party, she’s taken by the sexy stranger. Until he speaks. Beautiful plumage doesn’t compensate for spectacular ego. Rafael finds Francesca’s sweetness a turn-on. For about five minutes. Judgmental golden girls are more trouble than they’re worth. Then a terrified girl with reality warping powers, locked and loaded on their destruction, whisks the pair to Manhattan. Francesca and Rafael are caught in a web of magic, minions, secrets, and enough sexual tension to power NYC. Desperate to prove themselves, their only chance to save the city and survive is to team up, trust each other–and maybe even fall in love.

Provided they don’t kill each other first.

61912-goodreads

Amazon ~ Barnes and Noble ~ KoboiBooks

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

4 thoughts on “Get Real by Tellulah Darling

  1. Darling’s writing is too confusing for me. while I enjoyed the first one, what was it called” my ex from hell? and yet I can’t say that I was that interested or in any hurry to read the next ones. again with the YA theme that was too much all over the place for me. Just reading this review I’m all confused..

      1. I actually went and deleted ALL YA novels from my lists today. Just to make sure I don’t fall into those by mistake 😉 I wonder if it has to do with how much I hated being a teenager myself or is it the fact that I was TOTALLY different and so I don’t get teenagers in general? I have a feeling it’s too much psychology for YOU though hehe

Leave a Reply

