Posted in Books

Falling for the P.I. by Victoria James

I’ve missed this type of novels. That particular style within the contemporary genre is so much fun to read, while still emotionally engaging, that I always find myself surprised when I enjoy it.

Victoria James wrote this book for me. I dare you guys to argue or claim otherwise.

Kate and her pseudo sisters live together each with her daughter. Cara and Alex are determined to find a man for Kate, and boy do they find one.

Kate stays away from cops like they’re wildfire and she’s about to get burned. But her reasons are beyond valid. When she meets Matt at a bar, all bets are off, mainly because he simply can’t get her out of his mind.

There are many struggles in this book and many social misconceptions tackled with incredible finesse and style, and there’s a beautiful, beautiful love story weaved between two characters that in all fairness, are wonderfully perfect for each other, if not for their past.

James has the unique talent of writing Fade to Black sex scenes, making the reader feel like the sex scene isn’t actually missing. I’ve only encountered this from Rachel Harris and I’m thrilled another writer does this trick justice.

Back to the characters. Matt and Kate each have their skeletons they’ve dealt with long ago, but by which they lead their lives and karma-wise, unintentionally, do all they can to make sure never happen to anyone else. They do a great job at that, too, until they meet, and a single person in both their lives, past and present, is threatening to destroy them.

They each carry the story forward seamlessly, supported by fantastic characters in the form of Kate’s sisters and Matt’s partner and his mother and sister.

I absolutely loved this page turner and while it was a wee bit short for my liking (I’d have loved another FtB scene) I can’t but give it my highest rating and recommend it wholeheartedly for a quick weekend read to make your heart all warm and fuzzy, even with the touch of drama and frustration (at the world being so freakin’ unfair).

My rating: 5 Stars

~Eleanor

NetGalley provided this Entangled: Bliss title in exchange for my honest review.

Savor the sweetness of new love with Bliss’s new romance…

She could never trust a cop…

Teacher Kate Abbott’s fresh start in Still Harbor was the beginning of the life that she and her two best friends always imagined for themselves. Still, being a working single parent of a special needs daughter hasn’t exactly improved Kate’s love life. But Kate’s preference for nachos over men quickly disappears when she meets the oh-so-sexy Matt Lane.

Until she finds out he’s a cop.

Matt is a former cop-turned-private investigator, and he knows fear when he sees it. A cop clearly spooked Kate…or hurt her. Still, something about the gorgeous professor catches his attention, and despite his “no settling down” policy, he can’t resist her. But all of the attraction in the world won’t be enough to overcome Kate’s past…

add-to-goodreads-button

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Kobo ~iBooks

I always knew I wanted to be a writer and in grade five, I penned my first story, bound it (with staples) and a cardboard cover and did all the illustrations myself (if you’ve ever seen my drawings you’ll know how horrible they must have been.  I still draw stick figures).  Luckily, this book will never see the light of day again.

In high school I fell in love with historical romance and then contemporary romance.  After graduating University with an English Literature degree, I married my own hero, pursued a degree in Interior Design and then opened my own business.

After the birth of our first child, I knew it was time to fulfill the dream of writing romantic fiction.  I’m a hopeless romantic who is living my dream, penning happily-ever-after’s for my characters in between managing kids and the family business.  Writing on a laptop in the middle of the country in a rambling old Victorian house would be ideal, but I’m quite content living in suburbia with my husband, our two young children, and very bad cat.

I’d love to hear from you!  Always feel free to connect with me via email, Twitter, or Facebook.

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

2 thoughts on “Falling for the P.I. by Victoria James

  1. Thank you for a fantastic review, Eleanor! I could feel your enjoyment in your words and I 1-clicked! LOL! I love these types of contemporary romances too, and this one just got moved to the top of my entirely-too-ridiculously-long TBR!

  2. Hahaha, I know what you mean about entirely-too-ridiculously-long TBR. I’m in the same boat, but I’m starting to think maybe I should lay off a little on YA trilogies (unless I’m ordered to read them since they’re AMZING) and stick to contemporary romances. Those are most often more realistic anyway, even if somewhat too optimistic.

    Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

