Uncharted Territory by Tamsen Parker

Ooohhhhh Tamsen, Tamsen, Tamsen… Doing this to us readers was harsh.

Now that Uncharted Territory is out, I’m not sure reading Personal Geography and Intimate Geography first is such a good idea. I mean, I get why it probably is, but I can also think of many reasons why it isn’t.

I took up reading this book very pessimistic, as I already had preconceived notions about Hunter. But here goes nothing!

I loved getting to know India the way she was at the very beginning of discovering her sexual proclivities. Getting a glimpse to India as she grew into her PG/PI self is eye opening.

India and Hunter meet when she visits his party with Rey, in the early days of her submissive training. Hunter is immediately enamored as are the rest of the Doms at the party.

Now Hunter. He is definitely a force to be reckoned with. He’s storming into India’s life and quite literally sweeping her off her submissive feet. She clearly loves it and while reading, I enjoyed their relationship, his protectiveness and fierce need for her. But at the same time my mind kept wandering to who I knew he’s going to end up being.

That may have clouded my judgement of him, and I’m sure the author took that into consideration when she decided to write this prequel, but it bothered me a little. I normally like to be immersed in a character and fall in love with it’s strengths and weaknesses. Love it both for its awesomeness and flaws. I think I was robbed of it with Hunter.

One thing I loved, loved, loved and loved some more in this book is Rey. His love for India is shining bright throughout the book, even in the parts that aren’t really his. I loved the way they met, how he took her under his wing. I loved his taking care of her throughout her training, I loved his standing by her right there at the end. He’s a perfect best friend to her. This book is worth reading just to get to know how deep his and India’s bond goes.

In PG/PI I had her all figured out. She is very clearly described, her wants and needs are given by the author and as a reader I just accepted her as she was “given” to me. I loved her. I think she’s a strong character. Getting to learn just how she got to be so strong minded and strong in general in her role as a submissive, is just awesome. But it mostly sheds light on her growing into her character as we know her in the other two books.

Imagining reading Uncharted Territory prior to the two main books in the series, I think I’d have been left with a big WTF at the end, and it might have also made PG and PI a lot more compelling. (not that I needed it as I absolutely loved both!)

My rating: 4.5 stars

~Eleanor

Before there was Cris, there was Hunter…

Eighteen-year-old India Burke has been waiting for as long as she can remember to escape her life of material feast and emotional famine. Going away to college offers separation from her noxious family and a connection with the best friend a girl could ask for.

While her peers are picking majors and navigating the pool of college dating, Reyes Walter introduces India to the intoxicating world of dominance and submission and to a man who will become utterly obsessed with her. Hunter Vaughn is older, handsome, and just the right kind of arrogant. And he’s never wanted anything as badly as he’s wanted to possess India.

As she comes into her own in these consuming relationships, where pain so often results in pleasure and submission is a gateway to freedom, it’s difficult to define sacrifice. But when Hunter issues a ruthless ultimatum, India will have to choose: give up half of herself or break free of the bondage and belonging she’s always craved.

Please note: Uncharted Territory is a prequel to Personal Geography. This erotic coming-of-age has no happily ever after, but does offer compelling kink, scorchingly hot sex, and brutal psychological warfare.

add-to-goodreads-button

Uncharted Territory

AmazonKobo

Personal Geography

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Kobo

Intimate geography

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Kobo

Tamsen Parker is a stay-at-home mom by day, erotic romance writer by naptime. She lives with her family outside of Boston, where she tweets too much, sleeps too little and is always in the middle of a book. Aside from good food, sweet rieslings and gin cocktails, she has a fondness for monograms and subway maps. She should really start drinking coffee.

Leave a Reply

