Posted in Books

Sweet Agony by Charlotte Stein

“I can only lie this still for so long, you know. Better do it before I stop pretending I am entirely asleep and absolutely not getting an erection at the idea of you fondling me while I am as helpless as a woman in a painting by Rossetti. Or any of the Pre-Raphaelite.”

Charlotte Stein’s writing style is an acquired taste, that’s for sure. I, personally, adore it.

Molly and Cyrian’s… connection is one of the most bizarre I’ve read. Ever. But it’s so wonderful, I couldn’t not want to read more and find out how they both overcome the unique issue at hand. Sorry for the double negative.

I loved Molly to the moon and back. She’s been through hell in life and is determined to not back down when she’s confronted with a difficult boss.

Cyrian on his part is trying to live a life he wants while dealing with some childhood issues (what else…). And while I felt like slapping him most of the first half of the book, I was also fascinated by him and his quirkiness. And boy, did that pay off.

“I have no boundaries now. You burned them all. I have no walls around myself; you have reduced each one to rubble. You have undone me in every conceivable way and yet still you hesitate, and I adore you for it.”

I think the above quote represents the spirit of the story, but mostly, it represents Stein’s wit, (sometimes dark) humor and cleverness in writing.

My rating: 5 Stars

~ Eleanor

* I received Sweet Agony from the author and my review and rating is 100% honest.

New job, new boss, and he’s cold, strict, but terribly attractive. Does Molly Parker stay or does she go? Because beneath Cyrian’s chilly front, there may be a heat that’ll burn her up.

Giving in was vicious bliss.

The live-in position is an opportunity for Molly to earn and escape a problematic family. There’s just one drawback. Her employer is the most eccentric, aloof and closed off man she’s ever encountered. His rules are bizarre and his needs even more so, and caring for his ramshackle Dickensian home is far more than she ever bargained for. Only their increasingly intense conversations stop her heading for the door. Cyrian Harcroft is a man of many mysteries and secrets, and the more she learns the greedier she is for each and every one. Especially when she discovers his greatest fear: any kind of physical contact. Now all she has to do is dig a little deeper, to unearth the passion she knows he can feel…

Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ Kobo

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

