Posted in Books

The Virgin by Tiffany Reisz

This, and I’m not saying this lightly, is probably the best book in the series (out of the 7 books released to date). And you all know my favorite is Søren. But seriously – this? Freaking incredible!

hammock_divider_200

The controversial story before the story continues in the critically acclaimed and award-winning series The Original Sinners.

For years, Kingsley Edge warned Eleanor the day would come when she, the mistress of a well-respected Catholic priest, would have to run and hide. She always imagined if that day came she’d be running away with Søren. But instead, she’s running from him.

Knowing Søren and Kingsley will their use their influence to bring her back, Eleanor alone, penniless and scared takes refuge at the one place the men in her life cannot follow: the abbey where her mother has taken orders. Behind the cloistered gates of the convent, Eleanor hides from the man she loves and hates in equal measure

She cannot, however, hide from her true nature. When Eleanor befriends a young virginal nun, she faces a startling sexual awakening. But Eleanor can’t stay forever, and the lure of her real life beckons beyond the locked gates. But to follow her fate means to leave Kyrie behind, a sacrifice Eleanor refuses to make

The lure of the forbidden. The temptation to sin. The price of passion has never been higher, and Eleanor will have to pay it if she ever wants to go home again.

hammock_divider_200

add-to-goodreads-button

I went in reading The Virgin with great apprehension. I’m very much a Søren girl, and love everything and anything to do with him and Nora, and this book dealing mainly with Nora and Kingsley, in two separate storylines (though they are cleverly, as ever, woven) made me…. not “thrilled” to start. Which is probably why I had it for 3.5 weeks before I attempted reading it. LOL <—- silly me.

In The Virgin we learn of the whole truth behind the reason Nora left Søren years ago and how she became a dominatrix. We learn where she’s been a whole year when she couldn’t be found, we learn what she did during that year, we learn a whole lot about her relationship with her mother, and we mostly learn just how deeply Nora loves Søren.

Alternately, we get a play by play of how Kingsley and Juliette met. And let me tell you this – it’s GLORIOUS!!! I never thought King could be taken down to his knees by a woman, but Juliette does it without even meaning to, and that is a sight to behold. Or imagine. 😉

There are multiple highs and lows in The Virgin created a vortex of emotions when I read it. I quite literally felt Nora’s and Kingsley’s pain, Søren’s anguish and their indescribably happiness.

The Virgin is one glorious tale from beginning to end, and oh what a splendid end it is. I can’t believe I’m saying this but I’m kind of looking forward to the last book in the series. And still…. dreading the day it arrives.

My rating: 5 <— brightly shining!!!

ps – lookie here, I managed to review this book without spilling one itty bitty secret. Hahahahaha *pats self on the back*

Thanks Harlequin via NetGalley that sent me this advance copy in exchange for an honest review. 

Eleanor_heart

 

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

