Verum by Courtney Cole

Soooo….. yeah, that happened. Yet again.

Just when I thought Nocte’s cliffy won’t be a recurring thing, Courtney Cole decided to stick it to us (in the best way possible, yeah?) with Verum.

hammock_divider_200

The truth shall set you free.
My name is Calla Price and I’m drowning.
My new world is a dark, dark ocean and I’m being pulled under by secrets.
Can I trust anyone? I don’t know anymore.
The lies are spirals. They twist and turn, binding me with their thorns and serpentine tongues. And just when I think I have it figured out, everything is pulled out from under me.
I’m entangled in the darkness.
But the truth will set me free.
It’s just ahead of me, so close I can touch it. But even though it shines and glimmers, it has glistening fangs and I know it will shred me.
Are you scared?
I am.

add-to-goodreads-button

hammock_divider_200

*** SPOILER-ish REVIEW ***

As I did with Nocte, the first book in this dark, rather creepy and totally mindfucking trilogy, I won’t be discussing the plot.

I can say it picks up directly after Nocte ends, and again, the whole thing is told from Calla’s point of view. Though I can’t really, for the life of me, decide if she’s actually telling it or it’s all in her head. Just read the thing and you’ll understand what I’m talking about.

I dove into this book and read it almost in one breath. It sucked me in completely, probably even more than Nocte did. Might be because the world is already established and the story is solid (as much as this weirdness can be described as solid) in my head.

It’s incredibly well written and very very dark. It completely messes with your head, and with every turn of the page you get one plot direction in your head only to have it switched with the next page turn.

I can’t, CAN’T, CANNOT wait for Lux, the final installment and the conclusion of this trilogy and Calla’s story. At the same time I’m dreading it. A little.

Ok, a lot.

My rating: 5

* My thanks to Courtney Cole and Badass Marketing for a copy of this title in exchange for an honest review.

Eleanor_heart

Get VERUM (Nocte Trilogy #2):
Amazon
| iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Add it on Goodreads

hammock_divider_200

Get NOCTE, the first book in the trilogy:
Amazon
| iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Add it on Goodreads
Leave a Reply

