Intrusion (Under the Skin #1) by Charlotte Stein

You now how you love an author’s writing that you just click and get their book, no matter what it’s about? This is me with Charlotte Stein.

hammock_divider_200

I believed I would never be able to trust any man again. That kindness was only for fools and would lead me down that same terrible path into darkness. I thought so with every fiber of my being-and then I met Noah Gideon Grant.
Everyone says he’s dangerous. He never comes out of his house-a place that looks like it could be featured in Serial Killers Monthly. But the thing is … I think something happened to him too. I know the chemistry between us isn’t just in my head. I know he feels it, but he’s holding back. The pleasure he gives me is unreal-if only I could give something in return. If only he would let me in. I think I can make him feel something good. And for the first time in forever, I want to.

He’s made a labyrinth of himself. Now all I need to do is dare to find my way through.

add-to-goodreads-button

hammock_divider_200

Intrusion is dark love story that doesn’t really begins with love. I wouldn’t even call it a friendship, but more of an accidental acquaintance between the secluded, mysterious stranger and the shy, slightly paranoid and neurotic neighbor.

Both Noah and Beth’s story is a twisted one. They both have been through so much, and both are suffering the consequences of those issues, from a supposedly suicidal sleep walking and the intense desire to heal that you push beyond limits.

I find that I can’t really say much about the plot, because every page turn is worth your while to discover by yourself. I can say that the emotional arc in this book is so intense and so profound, I felt like I’m a physical observer in their neighborhood, watching their relationship develop and grow.

Just like the series name, the words crawl right under the reader’s skin. There are many surprises, including a few that you expect but get them from a whole different angle.

Charlotte Stein’s writing style is like nothing you’ve ever read, and likely will never encounter with another author. The use of metaphors is always so spot on and elaborate (but just the right amount), the way her characters, even the driest of them, are so well emotionally developed…. it’s a true art.

My rating: 5

icon_amazon icon_barnesandnoble icon_ibooks kobo

Eleanor_heart

Leave a Reply

