Avoiding Alpha by Aileen Erin

“We’re mates. Two halves. They can’t separate us. I won’t let them.” He paused. “You asked me what you do for me. Well, you balance me. I never laughed this much before you came into my life.”

And there’s more to that quote, it’s really not fair I cut it here, but if you want to know the rest of it, get the book.

hammock_divider_200

Seventeen-year-old Tessa McCaide has come a long way since her abrupt entrance into the world of werewolves, but she still has a way to go before she’s comfortable with going full-wolf. So, she’s avoiding thinking about it any way she can. Thankfully her hot mate, Dastien Larent, is proving to be quite the distraction.

But when she finds her suitemate getting sick in their bathroom, she knows something’s majorly wrong. The curse on Meredith that suppresses her wolf is slowly killing her, and Tessa can’t sit idly by while her best friend wastes away. Going against her pack Alpha, Mr. Dawson, by playing with magic she doesn’t fully understand might not be her smartest move, but Tessa has never been one to follow the rules. She’ll break every one if it’ll give her a chance at saving Meredith. But can she save her friend without losing more of herself?

 

add-to-goodreads-button

hammock_divider_200

I can’t get over the gorgeousness of this cover.

After reading Becoming Alpha, I’ve been on pins and needles to get my hands on this book. It picks up merely weeks after the end of the first installment in the series. The vampires attack has been dealt with, Tessa is more comfortable with her new identity, her relationship with Dastien (insert major swoon) is blooming and things seem calm.

And then Meredith, her best friend who’s been cursed by the leader of the coven Tessa’s mother belonged to, falls ill and has to be sedated. But once learning she only has days, if not hours to live, Tessa must do whatever she can to save her friend. Even at the risk of trading herself for her friend’s life.

That’s the story in a nutshell, and I apologize for any spoiler.

Tessa is pretty fearless in this book. Except for two impending issues, she’s dealing with being a werewolf pretty great. The first issue is her shifting status. She refuses to let her wolf come out and play, and most of the time I felt impressed with how she was controlling her. Yes, it’s stemming mostly from fear, probably after the first time hurt. Then there’s the mating ceremony with Dastien that is fast approaching, on her birthday just days away.

I loved seeing the contrast between Tessa’s fearless in general nature clash with her insecurities about being mated and shifting.

Dastien. I love him. Erin writes him beautifully as a gorgeous (naturally), strong, attentive, sensitive, protective and so incredibly in love. And he has the incredible ability to be serious, yet cooperate with a little light teasing.

“You haven’t lost your mind,” a low gravelly voice said beside me.
I squealed and opened my eyes. Dastien was crouched beside my bed, his eyes level with mine. “Oh my God. How long were you listening?”
“Right as she was advising you on take precautions.” 

When he feels his bond with Tessa… change (not revealing how to avoid spoilers) his freaking out is so intense, I felt my breath hitch. Loved that scene.

And Dastien’s dimples make another appearance (or few)

Dastien pulled the covers down a little. His smile was big, showing his dimples. “je t’aime, cherie.”

*swoon*

Another aspect I loved that was discussed, though briefly, was Meredith and Donovan’s relationship. Especially the fun banter at the end.

And not to forget the coven. The more revealed about the brujas and that particular coven’s history, the more I got the feeling the next book will be more action filled, not to mention the amount of witchcraft I’m expecting.

I can’t wait for Alpha Divided coming this October. *squeee*

* Thank you InkMonster and NetGalley for the advance copy of this title in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: 5

icon_amazon icon_barnesandnoble icon_ibooks kobo

Available Tuesday, May 13th, 2014!!

 Eleanor_heart

 hammock_divider_200

Aileen Erin is a lover of all things nerdy—from Star Wars (prequels don’t count) to Star Trek (TNG FTW), she reads Quenya and some Sindarin, and has a severe fascination with the supernatural. Aileen has a BS in Radio-TV-Film from the University of Texas at Austin, and an MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. She lives with her husband in Los Angeles, and spends her days doing her favorite things: reading books, creating worlds, and kicking ass.

facebook twitter icon_goodreads

Leave a Reply

