Posted in Books

Twisted by Emma Chase

Emma Chase blasted into my “reader life” with Tangled. I remember reading it in on sitting less than a year ago. She’d done it again with the novella Holy Frigging Matrimony a few months ago and now we’re getting Drew Evans again in Twisted.

hammock_divider_200

There are two kinds of people in the world. The ones who look first, and the ones who leap. I’ve always been more of a looker. Cautious. A planner. That changed after I met Drew Evans. He was so persistent. So sure of himself – and of me.

But not all love stories end happily ever after. Did you think Drew and I were going to ride off into the sunset? Join the club. Now I have to make a choice, the most important of my life. Drew already made his –in fact, he tried to decide for the both of us. But you know that’s just not my style. So I came back to Greenville. Alone. Well, sort of alone….

What I’ve come to realize is that old habits die hard and sometimes you have to go back to where you began, before you can move ahead.

TWISTED picks up two years after Tangled’s end, and is told from Kate’s POV.

add-to-goodreads-button

hammock_divider_200

“Would you fucking stop! Why are you being like this?”

I glare up at him. “Because you don’t even care! I’m really upset here – and you don’t give a shit!”

His eyes open wide, incredulous.

“Of course I give a shit – I’m the one getting Jimmy Choos thrown at my head like Chinese freaking stars!”

“If you care so much, why don’t you apologize?!”

“Because I didn’t fucking do anything! I have no problem crawling on my hands and knees when I screw up. But if you think I’m gonna beg because you’ve been possessed by the Hormone Demon – you’re out of your mind sweetheart.”

Don’t you just love Drew? Well… this one’s a roller coaster, and here are my thoughts.

It’s been two years since Tangled ended and Drew and Kate are well… breaking up. Whoa! What? Yup. I was a little baffled and was tweeting the author who told me that while the beginning of the story is adorable, the end of the beginning, a.k.a. prologue, is a definite WTF-is-about-to-happen moment.

Here’s what’s going on: Kate isn’t feeling well and takes the day off only to end up going to the office at some point. Drew and Kate are summing up a meeting where the client’s hitting on Kate. Drew is jealous and shuts him down. Kate’s old friend has arrived in town to open a clinic. Kate rejects a date with Drew in favor of meeting up with her friend (who’s nickname is a man’s name!). Drew confronts Kate. All hell breaks loose. Kate leaves.

And you can fill in the rest. Only there are a few surprises along the way.

The writing is, again, fantastic. The humor and flow of the story is, again, perfect. And how. on. earth. can. we. not. love. Drew.? Admittedly, he’s a complete idiot in this one (and kinda was in Tangled, too) and things go waaaaaaaay out of hand and make for a very frustrated reader, although I loved even the angst. And yes, there’s a decent amount of angst for this genre.

The supporting characters in this are fantastic. Kate’s best friends are amazing and supportive, and fun and funny, and as with Tangled, move the story forward beautifully.

Highly recommended to anyone who enjoyed the first title, appreciates good swoons mixed with laughs and drama, and the stupidity of a hot man.

My rating: 5

* I promised an honest review in exchange for a copy of this title. My thanks to Gallery Books, Enn Bocci, NetGalley and of course, Emma Chase.

Eleanor_heart

 

icon_amazon icon_barnesandnoble icon_ibooks kobo

By day, Emma Chase is a devoted wife and mother of two who resides in a small, rural town in New Jersey. By night she is a keyboard crusader, toiling away the hours to bring her colorful characters and their endless antics to life. She has a long standing love/hate relationship with caffeine.

Emma is an avid reader. Before her children were born she was known to consume whole books in a single day. Writing has also always been a passion and with the 2013 release of her debut romantic comedy, Tangled, the ability to now call herself an author is nothing less than a dream come true.

www facebook twitter icon_goodreads

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

