Posted in Books

My Life From Hell by Tellulah Darling

First, I have to say this journey with Tellulah has been wonderful. I was honored to take part in her crazy challenges promoting My Date From Hell, I was excited when I received My Ex From Hell and every other title after it just the same.

Both Ex and Date were hilarious, though I’ll admit I enjoyed Ex more than Date. HOWEVER, My Life From Hell is a whole different ballgame. Without further ado, let me give you my thoughts on the book, that sealed the adorable The Blooming Goddess trilogy.

hammock_divider_200

To say that Sophie Bloom is at the top of her game with one only week until spring equinox and the final showdown with Zeus and Hades would be, well, lying. The Goddess of Spring feels more like the Goddess of Bzz Thanks For Playing than the savior of humanity. And could her relationships be any more messed up?

Good times.

Sophie is convinced that things can’t get any worse than crawling back to her mother Demeter and begging for help. But she’s about to find out how very wrong she is.

It’s a race against time for Sophie to implement the big battle strategy in the YA romantic comedy/Greek mythology finale My Life From Hell. Love meets comedy with a whole lot of sass in book three of this teen fantasy romance series. Save herself; save the world. Humanity may be screwed.

add-to-goodreads-button

hammock_divider_200

My Date From Hell concluded with Sophie being dragged away from school by her evil mother, Demeter, immediately after getting all of Persephone’s memories back and Kai realizing Persephone conspired with Demeter to betray him. Of course, the one to suffer from this little piece of information is Sophie.

My Life From Hell begins with a BIG surprise for the readers. And one that I, for one, really enjoyed. Sophie is now living with Theo and Fee in Fee’s loft. Theo can’t very well go back to school having been revealed for who he really is. The equinox is fast approaching and there are things to figure out as well as broken hearts to mend.

The group finds out their ward at the equinox site has been warded by Hades, so in order to gain access to the site they must use Demeter. Confronting her in order to get that access, Sophie strikes up a devastating deal, and wanting to or not, ends up in the Underworld again, against her will. But, here’s the tricky part – she’s Sophie, but in Persephone’s body. She’s reliving all that happens prior to Persephone’s death the first time, but this time in order to save the world, she must save herself. I mean, Persephone.

I think Sophie’s growth throughout the trilogy is very pronounced in this book and just at the perfect time when she need to literally save the world. She’s mature (mostly) and determined (mostly) and her strength manifests in different parts of the story, and in various aspects of her journey. I also loved the manipulation Darling did on Sophie’s journey – her key to saving the world. I think there were hidden clues to that conclusion strewn through the entire trilogy. Very clever.

I’ve got to dedicate a little bit of this review to Festos and Theo. G’damn, those boys are adorable beyond any comprehension. I think Fee is one of my favorite characters in this trilogy, and him not showing up in My Ex from Hell is a miss for anyone who decided to stop reading after book 1. I can respect not connecting with the story, but seriously – Fee is worth giving it a second shot. The boy is sarcastic, funny, determined, smart and in his own geeky-godly way – swoony.

My Life From Hell was a great conclusion to the trilogy and Sophie and Kai’s story. I can summarize this book as a great mythology meets modern humor  story, wonderfully happy, funny, action packed with a HEA that leaves a sweet taste. And don’t forget all the Kai swoons. That boy… och. I love him.

My Rating: 4.5star

* My deepest thanks to Tellulah Darling, Te Da Media Publishing and NetGalley for this advanced copy of the book.

I definitely can’t wait for more words from Tellulah Darling.

Eleanor_heart

icon_amazon icon_ibooks kobo

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

