Hard As It Gets by Laura Kaye

Och, how I love this writing style. The swoons and sexy mixed in with kick-ass, tough-guy, no-nonsense lingo… in a contemporary setting. Almost makes me feel like these things, while can happen in real life – can actually happen in real life. Know what I mean?

So now I have the Hard Ink series on my growing list of favorites.

hammock_divider_200

Trouble just walked into Nicholas Rixey’s tattoo parlor. Becca Merritt is warm, sexy, wholesome–pure temptation to a very jaded Nick. He’s left his military life behind to become co-owner of Hard Ink Tattoo, but Becca is his ex-commander’s daughter. Loyalty won’t let him turn her away. Lust has plenty to do with it too.

With her brother presumed kidnapped, Becca needs Nick. She just wasn’t expecting to want him so much. As their investigation turns into all-out war with an organized crime ring, only Nick can protect her. And only Becca can heal the scars no one else sees.

Desire is the easy part. Love is as hard as it gets. Good thing Nick is always up for a challenge.

add-to-goodreads-button

I don’t know how to review this book without spoiling it, but I’ll try.

A mysterious message to find a man to help her is all Becca Merritt has to go by to help a loved one. So she finds him in a tattoo shop, and then Nick Rixey turns her away. But his anger and absolute devastation he feels towards Becca’s father aren’t enough to keep him from going back on his action. And he helps her.

Thus begins a whirlwind of steamy hot, action filled and mind boggling plot that is the perfect answer to the term “page turner.”

I love Becca. She’s strong and willful, sensitive and caring and she’s fiercely determined to do the right thing. I loved that she isn’t afraid to speak her mind, to demand what she deserves, or at the very least, wants. I loved that she won’t back down and will manage to push without overstepping her boundaries. Becca is definitely a great character, especially since she didn’t need to be rescued. She needed help doing the rescuing.

Nick Rixey… Yum! I think ultimately I didn’t love him as much as I expected to, and I can’t point out why. But I can’t say a bad word about an ex-special ops hot man. I just can’t. He’s tough, he’s sexy, he’s gorgeous, protective and he now does tattooing at his brother’s shop.

Those two go through a lot together in this book, and having started reading the next title in the series, I can tell you they aren’t hidden in the shadows of the story like I’m used to with character based series. The story plot is a roller-coaster of action, sexy times, fear and hold-your-breath moments and it’s an absolutely wonderful and fun read.

I love how my friend Kristin over at These Pretty Words summarized the book: “Suspenseful and fast-paced, Hard as it Gets is a phenomenal five star read filled with romance, action and hot moments sure to get your heart racing. I loved it and already have the second book in the series, Hard As You Can, tagged as a must-read for 2014.”

My rating: 4.5star

Hard Ink is shaping up to be a great contemporary series and I already feel confident enough to tell you all to pre-order book 2, Hard As You Can. 

icon_amazon icon_barnesandnoble icon_ibooks kobo

Eleanor_heart

Laura Kaye is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary and paranormal romance. Laura’s hot, heartfelt stories are all about the universal desire for a place to belong. Laura grew up amidst family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses, cementing her life-long fascination with storytelling and the supernatural. Laura lives in Maryland with her husband, two daughters, and cute-but-bad dog, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.

Join Laura Kaye’s Occasional Newsletter – goo.gl/lO48VA – to Receive:
*News about contests and giveaways *Sneak peeks and teasers *Early cover reveals *The most up-to-date book news and new releases *Book signings and appearances *Online events for readers *Upcoming sales*

www facebook twitter icon_goodreads

2 thoughts on “Hard As It Gets by Laura Kaye

Leave a Reply

