Posted in Books

Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3) by Tahereh Mafi

From the first book in the series, Shatter Me, and through the second one and both novellas published I was hooked. I couldn’t get enough of Juliette, Adam and Warner. I couldn’t get enough of Kenji. Dear God, if ever there was a secondary character more deserving of a book of its own, if not a whole spinoff series – it’s Kenji.

hammock_divider_200

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love”

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew-about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam-was wrong.

In Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi created a captivating and original story that combined the best of dystopian and paranormal and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” The sequel, Unravel Me, blew readers away with heart-racing twists and turns, and New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia said it was “dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and climactic end.

add-to-goodreads-button

And now without further ado…

This review will probably encompass Ignite Me, but will wrap up my thoughts of the series as a whole. Do yourself a favor and make sure you read all the books in proper order before reading this one.

Adam Kent, from the very beginning of the series was the good guy. I’m a sucker for good guys. There are some more than questionable dudes out there that grab my attention and affection, but as a whole, my good girl self loves a good boy. And as per Mafi’s evil plot I was Adam-hooked. The sun quite possibly shown out of his butt crack, I loved him so much.

Juliette, well, the entire series (excluding both novellas) is told from her point of view. And possibly because of that, her character development and progression as the story moved along, grew with it. She started out closed off, semi-demented, scared of her own shadow and more than scared to hurt others, thinking she’s a monster. In Unravel Me Juliette was gaining some confidence. She started realizing herself, realizing her power and her importance in her own life and the life of the people she cares about and that care about her. And found she can use some of her abilities, supernatural or otherwise, to have an effect on the rebellion against the Reestablishment.  But in Ignite Me Juliette comes to the conclusion, after finding out the truth about what happened during the last attack on Omega Point, that she is the only one strong enough spiritually and possibly physically, to take down the Reestablishment. And she sets on doing just that.

I think she is ultimately one of the better YA characters out there. She has her weak and breaking moments, but throughout everything she grew and avoiding clichés – became what she was meant to be.

Which brings me back to Adam. The end of Unravel Me made my heart hurt. Juliette basically dumped him and I could tell that while she hated doing it and still loved him, Adam hurt a lot more than she did. All I wanted to see was them getting back together, and I was sure that was what Mafi was aiming for.

Tahereh Mafi, though, had obviously known where the trilogy was going from the very beginning, and selected few (that I know, anyway) fell for Warner almost from the very start. So while I liked his character as the “evil” in the story – he really wasn’t. And reading between the lines wasn’t what I was doing. Obviously.

Aaron Warner, Adam’s half brother (unbeknownst to the former, at the point where Ignite Me begins) is everything a character should be, if said character is evil, manipulative, conniving, and drop dead gorgeous. He is furthering his own agenda, but is clearly suffering from warring emotions.

What I find exceedingly fascinating was that Warner’s character didn’t have a traditional arc. His character created an arc of emotions in me. The reader. The more I think about it, the more I love the idea of it and my appreciation to Aaron Warner, but mostly Mafi – grows.

I can keep babbling about this book a lot, but what’s the point? I say just get it (links below) and read it and love it. So while I didn’t expect the ending to be quite as it turned out, I think Ignite Me concluded the trilogy the best way possible. And yes, I may have switched teams.

My rating: 4.5star

icon_amazon icon_barnesandnoble icon_ibooks kobo

Eleanor_heart

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

