Posted in Books

Chaos (Kardia Chronicles #1) – Christine O’Neil

I love it when I pick up a book, not expecting much, but then – SURPRISE!!! It was great!

I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher, Entangled Press, and although I mostly read series when they’re complete or there’s more than one book published so that I won’t have to wait too long for the next one, and although my book list is probably so long it can circumference the entire planet, I made time to read it.

And I’m glad!

Blurb

My name is Maggie Raynard. After sixteen years being just plain me, suddenly, when I lose my temper, my fingers become weapons of mass destruction. Turns out I’m a semi-god, descended from Aphrodite. Sounds cool in theory, but when I accidentally put my ex-boyfriend in a coma, things go downhill pretty fast.

Now some new guy named Mac Finnegan has made it his mission in life to continually piss me off. I’m stuck learning how to use my new powers while also dealing with regular high school problems, and with this annoying—and super-hot—guy all up in my business, I’m about to flip out.

But it gets worse. I just learned there’s this watchdog council of semis who keeps an eye out for any bad apples. They think I’m the baddest of the bunch and want to take me out before I do any more damage. My nemesis Mac might turn out to be my salvation, only he’s got secrets of his own…and they may just kill us both.

My thoughts

Greek mythology seems to be the new vampire. And you know what? I’m fine with it. It’s interesting, it’s around us and it’s romantic (not necessarily “swoon” romantic.)

Maggie Raynard lived a normal life with her parents and grandmother for 16 years. When she was a girl her father died. When she turned 16, her bloodline of semi-gods descendants of Aphrodite started manifesting her hidden powers. Most dangerous of them is: her hands can kill you if she’s angry, stressed or any other type of negative emotion. Literally suck the life out of you.  Not good!

Her mother and grandmother had their powers bound and never regretted it. Though what resulted is Maggie knowing nothing about that part of her. Her mother is now telling her only what she must know, and that she have to suppress her urges until they’re completely developed so they can then bind them, too.

And then she zaps her ex-boyfriend and renders him in a coma. Very bad!

When Mac Finnegan shows up one day at school, hailing from Ireland, she’s both smitten and annoyed. He seems to be doing his best to piss her off, and pissing her off will not end well for him. Or will it?

“Wha-What are you doing?”

“Helping you like you asked, you pain in the arse. Now close your eyes. And it wouldn’t hurt my feelings if you did the same with your mouth.”

A supervising council decided she’s too dangerous and her powers must be stripped, but along with them, all her memories of her father will be stripped as well. She won’t know herself anymore. But what happens when she’s deemed responsible for murder?

“Once we get there,” he continued, “they’ll put you though a series of tests. When you fail, they’ll make sure this gets taken care of.”

I love Maggie. She’s fun, smart, kind of a loner and she’s really doing her best to control her life. Her character seems to be developing with her powers and so does her sense of responsibility. With each newfound aspect of herself, another layer of the story is revealed.

And Mac. I laughed so hard at some of his antics. This boy is smart and knows exactly which buttons to push with Maggie. As expected, he’s there for a reason, and we can guess what that reason is, but then his purpose seems to shift and that’s when the story truly begins. He is swoony, sexy and adorable.

“What’s your favorite movie?” Mac asked softly.

The question was so unexpected… so um-Mac-like, I had to ask him to repeat it. I flopped onto my side to face him and stuffed my arm under my head for support.

“You can’t laugh if I tell you.”

He half smiled but didn’t open his eyes. “Nope. No promises there.”

Dirty Dancing.

“That’s tat old movie where they’re not allowed to put babies in the corner, right?”

I snorted and he full-on smiled.

Adorbs, yes?

The book has wonderfully fun and potentially smexy banter between Maggie and Mac, and I often found myself laughing out loud (my sister had to stop by my room to check what I was up to).

I can’t forget Libby and Bink, Maggie’s best friends. Those two make the high-school atmosphere in the book. They’re fun and Libby especially, has the role of a best friend down pat. Between excitement over school dances, boy gossip and “playing” dressup – she’s helping set the teen vibe in the story.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book and I think this series has great potential. A little more rigorous editing/proofreading job would eliminate some minor, yet annoying errors.

The world of semi-gods O’Neil created around her version of mythology interpretation is fascinating and I’m really looking forward to the next book in this series and hope it’s not too far behind.

My rating: 4star

Eleanor_heart

amazon BN goodreads

Author:

I read, review, flail and swoon.

Leave a Reply

